LSU, Joe Burrow beat Clemson to win the College Football Playoff national title


LSU knocked Clemson off its title perch — and did it in a record-breaking showing. In the end, LSU had Joe Burrow. The other 129 FBS teams did not.

Burrow broke the single-season passing touchdown record (finished with 60) and LSU set the single-season points record in the poll era (726, beating 2013 Florida State’s 723 in 14 games) by closing out a 15-0 season with a 42-25 win against Clemson in New Orleans on Monday night.

The win marked LSU’s first title of the CFP era and its first national title since winning the BCS crown in the 2007 season. Burrow, who broke Hawai’i QB Colt Brennan’s pass TD record, finished the game 31-for-49 for 463 yards and five touchdowns. Biletnikoff Award winner Ja’Marr Chase had nine catches for 221 yards and two touchdowns. Chase’s receiving yards are the most by a player in a title game in the BCS/CFP era.

LSU 42, Clemson 25 | FINAL

Joe Burrow’s historic season ends at No. 1 as LSU surged past Clemson to win the College Football Playoff national title for the first time. And Clemson’s winning streak is now done at 29 games in a row.

Burrow ended his Heisman-winning season with 463 passing yards and five touchdowns and 58 rushing yards with a score.

The LSU vs. Clemson stats.

Clemson led 17-7 and cut the score to 28-25 in the third quarter, but it couldn’t consistently get pressure on Burrow. QB Trevor Lawrence had 234 passing yards, though he completed only 18 of his 37 passes while losing a fumble. Travis Etienne, who became Clemson’s career rushing yards leader in the game, had 78 yards and a touchdown.

LSU 35, Clemson 25 | End 3Q

Burrow has the record and LSU is a quarter away from its first national title since the 2007 season.

Despite seemingly not 100 percent after getting hit on a TD pass late in the first half, Burrow found Thaddeus Moss for a score to break the record for single-season touchdown passes at 59. That broke Colt Brennan’s record of 58 in 2006.

LSU star WR Ja’Marr Chase also now owns the record for receiving yards in a title game in the CFP/BCS era. He’s up to 218 yards, though a third touchdown fell incomplete off his hands.

Read More

%d bloggers like this: