Metro Nashville City Council Votes Exclusively for Social Justice Proponents to Serve on Community Oversight Board

The Community Oversight Board (COB) received four new members – all bringing similar perspectives and agendas concerning police. Metro Nashville City Council voted on the nominees during a meeting on Tuesday.

None of the nominees from the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) – former mayoral candidate Dr. Carol Swain, former FOP President Mark Wynn, community members Mary Byrd and Brandy Holloway – were selected. Of all the votes cast, Holloway received no votes, Byrd only received one, Swain only received two, and Wynn received ten.

During last week’s interview meeting for the nominees, Swain was the only nominee whose qualifications were objected to by the council’s Committee on Rules, Confirmations, and Public Elections.

Those confirmed were previous COB member Arnold Hayes, retired judge Joe Brown, previous campaign worker for Representative Jim Cooper (D-TN-05) Makayla McCree, and Representative Pramila Jayapal’s (D-WA-07) Health Policy Director Dr. Stephanie Kang.

All four of these members present similar perspectives focused on many of the same social justice ideologies.

%d bloggers like this: