Williamson school board member bids for District 4 commission seat

By Emily West, USA TODAY NETWORK – Tennessee

Williamson County School Board member Anne McGraw announced her campaign on New Year’s Day for the District 4 commission seat.

“As a public school parent and volunteer, a local business employee, and someone with a front row seat to the challenges our school system faces during this time of explosive population growth, it’s become crystal clear that our most urgent need is a county commission that’s willing to take action and fund our schools’ needs right now,” McGraw said.

“Citizens are tired of the talk of studies and brainstorming and want to see pragmatic and rational leadership.”

McGraw has been a member of the school board since 2015 after she was appointed. She was elected to the seat in August 2016. During her tenure on the school board, she’s served as the vice-chair and the policy committee chair.

More: Join the conversation at The Tennessean’s Williamson school finance forums

“In 2017, I was the lone dissenting vote on the board against reducing our already strapped operating budget by $6 million dollars because we were told the county commission was unwilling to raise our property tax rate and thus fund the budget,” she said.

“When our school leaders say the student population needs additional assistant principals, speech pathologists, remedial teachers and guidance counselors in order to adequately meet needs, we need to stop saying no. Our 5-year capital plan has us building 10 brand new school buildings, yet our tax rate is lower than surrounding areas who aren’t experiencing similar growth. The math doesn’t work.”

McGraw has lived in Franklin since 2012. She lives with her husband Ryan, and their two children who attend Williamson County Schools.

About the candidate

Name: Anne McGraw
District: District 4
Political affiliation: Democrat
Occupation: Senior Manager, Social Media Marketing, Nissan North America

About the election

Williamson County residents can vote for county commissioners representing their district next summer. The commission includes 12 districts, with two seats in each district. County commissioners review and vote on budgets for all departments of county government, set the county’s property tax rate and review other resolutions related to county needs.

Read More
%d bloggers like this: