Arizona: The Grand Canyon State

From Ballotpedia

Arizona is holding elections for one U.S. Senate seat, nine U.S. House seats, governor and six other state executive positions, all 30 state Senate seats, and all 60 state House seats. Two state Supreme Court justices and four state appellate court judges are standing for retention. Ballotpedia is also covering local elections in Maricopa County as well as six cities and 43 school districts. Five statewide ballot measures are also on the ballot, along with multiple local ballot measures.

What is the partisan balance in the state?

Congress: Republicans hold both U.S. Senate seats and five U.S. House seats. Democrats hold the other four U.S. House seats.

Governor: Republican.

Lt. Governor: Arizona does not have a lieutenant governor.

Attorney General: Republican.

State Senate: 17-13 Republican majority.

State House: 35-25 Republican majority.

Races to watch

  • U.S. Senate election in Arizona: U.S. Reps. Kyrsten Sinema (D) and Martha McSally (R) are running for the office held by retiring incumbent Sen. Jeff Flake (R). The seat is rated a toss-up. The election is competitive due to it being an open race, the state’s growing Latino population, and President Donald Trump’s (R) 4-point margin of victory in 2016. The last Democrat elected to the U.S. Senate from Arizona was Dennis DeConcini in 1988.
  • Arizona gubernatorial election: Incumbent Gov. Doug Ducey (R) faces Arizona State University professor David Garcia (D) and Angel Torres (G). Education is a major issue in the race. The state passed a bill raising teacher pay immediately following a week-long teacher strike that ended in May 2018.
  • Arizona Secretary of State election: State Sen. Katie Hobbs (D) is facing business owner Steve Gaynor (R). Gaynor is campaigning on preserving and strengthening Arizona’s requirement for proof of citizenship to vote. Hobbs says she will fight against such ID measures.
  • Arizona’s 1st Congressional District: Incumbent Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D) faces home inspector Wendy Rogers (R). The 1st District is one of 13 districts that voted for both President Trump (R) and a Democratic representative (O’Halleran) in the 2016 election. O’Halleran won the district by 7 points in 2016, and Trump won by 1 point.
  • Arizona’s 2nd Congressional District: Former U.S. Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D) faces Tucson Hispanic Chamber of Commerce CEO Lea Marquez Peterson (R) in the election for this swing seat. The seat is open as a result of Rep. Martha McSally’s run for the U.S. Senate. The 2nd District is one of 25 Republican-held districts won by Hillary Clinton (D) in the 2016 presidential election.

What you need to know if you’re an Arizona voter

Early voting dates: October 10 to November 2.

Polls open/close: 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voter ID: A voter must present some form of identification at the polls. The identification does not need to include a photo

%d bloggers like this: