The Trifecta in State Government

From Ballotpedia

A state government trifecta occurs when one political party holds the governorship, a majority in the state senate, and a majority in the state house in a state’s government. Entering the 2018 midterm election there were 34 states with trifectas — 26 Republican and 8 Democratic.

Here are some updates on the likely status of some of them after the 2018 midterm:

  • Democrats in Colorado flipped the Senate and will obtain a trifecta if they hold control of the House.
  • New York Democrats flipped the Senate and now have trifecta control.
  • With the loss of the governors’ offices in Michigan and Kansas, Republicans lost two trifectas.
  • New Hampshire Republicans lost both the Senate and House, and a trifecta, but retained the governor’s office.
  • Republicans will retain their trifectas in Mississippi and Florida.
  • Ohio looks to remain a Republican trifecta, with Mike DeWine defeating Richard Cordray.
  • Minnesota Democrats flipped the state House and held governor’s office. A single state Senate special will determine if they have a trifecta.
  • Republican governors all won re-election in Massachusetts, Maryland, and Vermont, keeping those states divided with the Democratic Party maintaining majorities in those legislatures.

More information regarding states with vulnerable trifectas and states vulnerable to slipping into trifecta status is available here. Stay tuned for more results.

%d bloggers like this: