All Hands On Deck, Time to Stop SB5395

Our children need you to come to Olympia, March 12th for the 8:00 AM House Education Committee Hearing on SB 5395 Requiring Comprehensive Sexual Education.  Even if you don’t want to testify, it’s crucial that we flood the State Capitol with people to stand and say, ‘No, not on my watch.’

The second half of the legislative session is starting with a bang, and the biggest bang is SB5395 Requiring Comprehensive Sexual Education.  This bill passed the Senate last week and is already scheduled for a public hearing in House Education Committee next week.

What:  Oppose SB 5395 Requiring Comprehensive Sexual Education

When: Tuesday, March 12 @ 8:00 AM

Where: State Capitol, John L. O’Brien Building, Room A

Why: Protect Our Children and Local Control of School Districts

How: Call and Email the House Education Committee, Call the Hotline, and Come to Olympia

SB 5395 requires that every school district and every school teach dangerous Comprehensive Sexual Education starting in Kindergarten.  This bill requires that instruction and materials be inclusive of, and use language and strategies that recognize, all protected classes – that would include Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender ‘protected classes.’  Further, the Comprehensive Sexual Education must be an integral part of the school’s curriculum and be ‘skills-based.’

In a skills-based curriculum, the teacher demonstrates the skill, the students practice the skill, and then the teacher assesses the students’ proficiency in the skill.  While there are many good skills to learn, such as communication and relationship skills, there are other skills that many parents don’t want the school teaching – condom usage being the most obvious.

Finally, SB5395 usurps the local control of School Boards and the voters.  Such sensitive topics ought to be taught by parents and failing that, parents should have the final say as to what is taught in their local schools.  The community cultures of Washington vary widely from West to East and North to South.  SB5395 destroys the opportunity for local input and control on this most intimate topic.

Please mark your calendar and try to make the sacrifice of being in Olympia on Tuesday, March 12 for the 8:00 House Education Committee hearing.  And until then, please email and call the Committee urging them to kill this dangerous bill.  You can also call the Legislative Hotline to let your Representatives know how you feel – 800.562.6000.

Representative Room Phone Email
Santos, Sharon Tomiko (D) 321 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7944 sharon.santos@leg.wa.gov
Dolan, Laurie (D) 318 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7940 laurie.dolan@leg.wa.gov
Paul, Dave (D) 309 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7914 dave.paul@leg.wa.gov
Steele, Mike (R) 122F Legislative Building (360) 786-7832 mike.steele@leg.wa.gov
McCaslin, Bob (R) 425 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7820 bob.mccaslin@leg.wa.gov
Volz, Mike (R) 427 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7922 mike.volz@leg.wa.gov
Bergquist, Steve (D) 322 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7862 steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov
Caldier, Michelle (R) 122H Legislative Building (360) 786-7802 michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov
Callan, Lisa (D) 335 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7876 lisa.callan@leg.wa.gov
Corry, Chris (R) 410 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7810 chris.corry@leg.wa.gov
Harris, Paul (R) 426A Legislative Building (360) 786-7976 paul.harris@leg.wa.gov
Kilduff, Christine (D) 334 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7958 christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov
Kraft, Vicki (R) 436 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7994 vicki.kraft@leg.wa.gov
Ortiz-Self, Lillian (D) 420 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7972 li.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov
Rude, Skyler (R) 122G Legislative Building (360) 786-7828 skyler.rude@leg.wa.gov
Stonier, Monica Jurado (D) 331 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7872 monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov
Thai, My-Linh (D) 424 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7926 my.thai@leg.wa.gov
Valdez, Javier (D) 306 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7818 javier.valdez@leg.wa.gov
Ybarra, Alex (R) 469 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7808 alex.ybarra@leg.wa.gov

For Such A Time As This,

Chris Sig3.jpg

Chris Plante
Policy Director, FPIWAction

%d bloggers like this: