Teaching Kindergartners to consent to sex?

Senate Bill 5395, Requiring All Public Schools to Implement Comprehensive Sexual Education by 2021, is up for public testimony on Tuesday, March 12th at 8:00 AM in the House Committee on Education.  I urge you to join hundreds of other concerned and angry parents and grandparents in Olympia on Tuesday morning demanding this bill be stopped.

Here’s just one piece of the puzzle of SB 5395:

  1. SB 5395 requires all public schools to implement State approved Comprehensive Sexual Education by 2021, down to the Kindergarten level.
  2. The Comprehensive Sexual Education curriculum must “Emphasize[s] the importance of affirmative consent, meaning conscious and voluntary agreement to engage in sexual activity, as a requirement before sexual activity”
  3. The curriculum must be skills-based: teaching the skill of “conscious and voluntary agreement to engage in sexual activity.”
  4. The curriculum must also be age-appropriate.

I ask you, parents and grandparents, what is the age-appropriate way to teach conscious and voluntary agreement to sexual activity to our kindergartners, our first graders, even our fifth and sixth graders?

There is only one way, and that is for this type of education to be left to the parents and grandparents in the home, not in a state-directed school that does not share your values.

Stopping this bill is of utmost importance and will require hundreds if not thousands of voices.  Please join us on Tuesday.  Remember, you don’t have to testify, but please join the ranks.

What: Oppose SB 5395 Requiring All Schools to Teach Comprehensive Sexual Education to Kindergartners

When: Tuesday, March 12th at 8:00 AM

Where: State Capitol Olympia, John L. O’Brien Building, Room A

How: Call and Email the House Education Committee, Call the Hotline, and Join Us on Tuesday

Until then, call and email the House Education Committee members urging that they stop this egregious bill, and get the message to your Representatives by calling the Hotline at 800.562.6000.

Representative Room Phone Email
Santos, Sharon Tomiko (D) 321 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7944 sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov
Dolan, Laurie (D) 318 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7940 laurie.dolan@leg.wa.gov
Paul, Dave (D) 309 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7914 dave.paul@leg.wa.gov
Steele, Mike (R) 122F Legislative Building (360) 786-7832 mike.steele@leg.wa.gov
McCaslin, Bob (R) 425 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7820 bob.mccaslin@leg.wa.gov
Volz, Mike (R) 427 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7922 mike.volz@leg.wa.gov
Bergquist, Steve (D) 322 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7862 steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov
Caldier, Michelle (R) 122H Legislative Building (360) 786-7802 michelle.caldier@leg.wa.gov
Callan, Lisa (D) 335 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7876 lisa.callan@leg.wa.gov
Corry, Chris (R) 410 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7810 chris.corry@leg.wa.gov
Harris, Paul (R) 426A Legislative Building (360) 786-7976 paul.harris@leg.wa.gov
Kilduff, Christine (D) 334 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7958 christine.kilduff@leg.wa.gov
Kraft, Vicki (R) 436 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7994 vicki.kraft@leg.wa.gov
Ortiz-Self, Lillian (D) 420 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7972 lillian.ortiz-self@leg.wa.gov  
Rude, Skyler (R) 122G Legislative Building (360) 786-7828 skyler.rude@leg.wa.gov
Stonier, Monica Jurado (D) 331 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7872 monica.stonier@leg.wa.gov
Thai, My-Linh (D) 424 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7926 my-linh.thai@leg.wa.gov
Valdez, Javier (D) 306 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7818 javier.valdez@leg.wa.gov
Ybarra, Alex (R) 469 John L. O’Brien Building (360) 786-7808 alex.ybarra@leg.wa.gov

I hope to see you on Tuesday.

For Such a Time As This,

Chris Plante
FPIWAction Policy Director

%d bloggers like this: